Shared Joy is Twice the Joy, Shared Pain is Half the Pain

Searching for Silent Steps

There are a lot of things that have been happening at Forum, although they tend to be similar to my previous days (Day 1, Day 2). Now that I’ve settled into a bit of a routine, I’ve started noticing other things. Beyond the fact that I discovered another two bookshelves – and 400 more books? – I’ve started paying more attention to how the producers actually select the comments, what the sound tech is actually doing (beyond playing with buttons and sliders), and in what ways I can help.

About face.

Every female in the workplace knows that there is a lot that goes into our daily outfits. Guys throw on their slacks, deciding which blue shirt goes best with the grey slacks, and if they should wear a striped tie, solid tie, or no tie at all. But we ladies have to decide between a skirt or slacks or a dress, how long said skirt/dress should be, what color blouse matches, how should we do our hair, what earrings look best, how much makeup, and (most importantly) what shoes to wear. The shoes can pull an outfit together, or make it look blah. Sometimes, if we know there will be a lot of walking, that changes the shoe selection. If there is an important meeting, perhaps heels are necessary. Oh my god, we put a lot of effort into picking the shoes we wear each and every day.

For the first time ever, I am considering all of the above and also how loud my shoes are every morning. Usually, clicking shoes don’t matter – who cares if you click walking down the hall? Honestly, no-one. But people do care if you are click-and-clacking as you walk into the studio while they are on air. Could you imagine hearing someone’s footsteps coming out of the radio as you were driving to work? That would be beyond weird. So. I have been keeping in mind the shoes I wear when I go to work. Can I tip-toe in these heels? Or if I walk slowly are they silent? Some of my quietest shoes are flats, but they give me blisters. I’ve yet to figure out how to tie a business outfit together with tennis shoes, but I’ll let you know if it works out.

Comments? Coincidences? Sound off!

