Shared Joy is Twice the Joy, Shared Pain is Half the Pain

So Much Summer

I’ve been home for a few weeks now, the weather is heating up, and there has been an awful lot of summer going on! And, with work two days a week and the other five days a week free for doing whatever I want, I’ve been enjoying the summer to the fullest extent of the law. (Been watching a lot of my favorite crime TV shows too…)

Summer Part I – Babysitting my favorite little Lucy, with a little bit of lemonade-making on the side…

photo 3

… or maybe there was a lot of making lemonade and a little bit of babysitting on the side.

Regardless, our little kindergartener climbed the tree in the backyard, and worked very hard to pick only the biggest, roundest, and ripest lemons; then she cut them all and juiced them, measured the water and the sugar, and made some tangy, tasty lemonade to celebrate the warm day and the World Cup. (And big brother Ben helped with the cutting and juicing, helped clean up too!)

Summer Part II – Fireworks at the A’s game

My mom’s company had a beginning of summer celebration at the Oakland A’s game against the Yankees. The A’s lost by a billion (aka, 7), but it didn’t matter. We stayed for the Mario Brothers-themed fireworks show, and it was totally worth it. Lots of fun, a beautiful day, and it was nice to spend some time with my mom!

photo 2

Usually, fireworks shows are limited to the 4th of July, but this is my second fireworks display in the year 2014. Hopefully they just keep getting better and better! (Although I’m not entirely sure how you can get better than Mario & Luigi themed fireworks with your Mom!)

Summer Part III – Photo Shoot at Filoli Gardens

Filoli used to be a rich person’s paradise, and then the rich people decided to share it with the rest of us. So now, Filoli is a beautiful place to walk around, full of gardens and reflecting pools, kids in strollers, and lots of good spots for photos!

Sam took photos of me, and I took some photos of her! Unsurprisingly, as I mentioned recently, her photos are better than mine…

I also got a little bit obsessed with trying to take photos of the bees that were all over the place. Somehow, I managed to only take one photo of a butterfly – but it was a good one. And then, only a handful of good shots of the bees in a few dozen attempts… But I also got some good other flower photos.

DSC_0252

Comments? Coincidences? Sound off!

