Shared Joy is Twice the Joy, Shared Pain is Half the Pain

Learning.JPG

One of the things I do at my internship is take photos to post on social media. Who I end up taking photos of is pretty arbitrary (usually I end up taking photos if we have time and they have time and Michael has time…), but getting to take them is pretty cool. And, even though I don’t need recognition of my work, and I certainly wasn’t expecting to get recognition for a bunch of publicity photos, it was nonetheless exciting to get a compliment from one of the producers on Tuesday – she told me she was impressed by my “eye” and “artistic sense.”

"Most of my tattoos are Maori from New Zealand, and they tell the stories of all the different aspects of my life." - Michael Franti on KQED Forum

“Most of my tattoos are Maori from New Zealand, and they tell the stories of all the different aspects of my life.” – Michael Franti on KQED Forum

I will admit to feeling proud of the idea behind this photo, based on the quote that I heard during the interview. When it ended, I asked him which tattoo was his favorite and if I could take a picture to go with his quote. Then I feel like I had the ability to see a good angle for a cool second photo, but I don’t necessarily feel like it is anything special – the quality and lighting were pretty poor.

But the comment made me start thinking about the realities of practicing. They say practice makes perfect, right? And even though I don’t think you can ever be perfect at an art form like photography, I certainly think you can get better. That’s what I thought about waaay back last year when I first got my new camera, and I think that I’ve gotten better over time at seeing a good shot and also at actually taking a shot that shows what I actually see…

When I was in Malta, I saw this awesome photo I wanted to take. And then I took it and it wasn’t really awesome at all. In fact, it was kinda blah.

DSC_0020

But then, I lay down on the ground, and took an awesome photo, which turned out to be almost exactly what I wanted.

DSC_0023

I’ve also noticed, here and there, the difference between photos I take and photos my friends take. When we went to Italy, for example, Ashten and I wanted the same picture from the same place in Riomaggiore. I could say that she’s just fundamentally more beautiful than I am, and thus her gorgeous radiance makes everything around her look better. Or maybe I’m just better at photography.

Don’t get me wrong – there are still lots of things I can be better at. In the mosque photo from Malta, it would be a better picture if the mosque was centered between the plants at the bottom, instead of slightly blocked and over to the right. And the picture I took of Ashten would have been better if I’d had her take a half step to her left – she would be blocking that unslightly tree, and also more of the harbor would be visible.

Nonetheless, it is fun to notice that I’m getting better at photography. I know a number of phenomenal photographers (Sam Alavi, for one…), and I always compare my photos to theirs and feel inadequate. But I am learning things, and it is nice to know that other people notice that too. So thanks for the compliment, Irene! And I hope that I can continue to get better at photography!

2 responses

  1. Ann

    Come over and take some pictures of my garden! Very interesting insights.

    June 13, 2014 at 10:37 am

  2. Pingback: So Much Summer |

Comments? Coincidences? Sound off!

