Shared Joy is Twice the Joy, Shared Pain is Half the Pain

Forum Day One

Oh my God! My job is amazing!!!

There are so many fun and wonderful things I experienced today, I literally don’t know where to start. I could start with the awesome guests, other interns, producers. I could start with the very (VERY) strange experience of hearing the voices I’ve only ever heard coming out of little electronic boxes coming out of real people’s real faces. I could start with the fact that the green room is covered floor to ceiling in signatures.

So wait, what happened?

I showed up, and I felt special from pretty much the first minute I walked in. I introduced myself to the security guard at the front desk, and asked to speak to Dan or Tina. Not names you hear on the radio that often, but names that apparently mean something. Because the mere implication that I either knew these people or that they were expecting me elicited a very nice “oh!” from said security guard.

I made my way upstairs with fellow Forum intern Eric as a guide. Unsurprisingly, with only a couple days on the job himself, he was basically as clueless as me. But I found Forum, found a chair, found another intern and a previous intern and got to work. Admittedly, I really didn’t know what I was doing, so most of the morning was spent absorbing information about how to use the database, enter people and shows into the database, print things out of the database, save my soul in the database…

More significantly, though, Day 1 included a lot of real work. Including beginning to monitor comments, bringing them to the producers, then bringing them into the recording studio to Michael Krasny himself. So, I handed papers (and guests!) off to Krasny, but still haven’t actually met him. A task for tomorrow, perhaps?

Once the show was over (after I met Beach Blanket Babylon, of course!) it was time to start planning the shows for Tuesday. Working with Tina, one of our producers, I helped find potential guests and background information for tomorrow’s 9am segment, which is about the EPA’s new carbon dioxide emission regulations for existing power plants. It was almost exactly like the pitches I made for my interview, except there was the added pressure of having a producer right behind me who wanted email updates every time I had a possible option. (Instead of being able to take the time to pick the best option, like I did before my interview.) It was a great first experience, though, in the time pressures of figuring stuff out. Because guests on the East Coast have to be found and contacted before 2pm our time, and it seems like 3-4 potential guests are contacted for each guest on air.

By the end of the day, I was checking emails and voicemails and the show for tomorrow was pretty much set up. Also, tomorrow’s 10 o’clock show is all about books to read for the summer. So if you like reading, or you have a friend/mother/brother/cousin/whatever who likes reading, tune in to KQED on 88.5 FM at 10 am PST (1 pm EST, 11 am CST) and bring a pencil and a pad of paper! (And maybe a cup of tea?) Oh, and also a phone and your book suggestions, because Forum is a call-in show! (866) 733-6786. Just sayin’

Apologies for the incredibly disjointed post, but expect more stories from this new internship!

4 responses

  1. This really sounds like an amazing job, I can really feel how excited you are by reading this post! 🙂 I’d love to read more about it!
    Sluníčko

    June 3, 2014 at 1:10 am

  2. Pingback: Forum Day Two |

  3. Pingback: Searching for Silent Steps |

  4. Pingback: Forum Phones |

Comments? Coincidences? Sound off!

