Shared Joy is Twice the Joy, Shared Pain is Half the Pain

Am I an Adult?

Crazy things are happening in my life, and they all somehow relate to being a real person.

I have discovered that, while you must be 25 to rent a car in the US, you only have to have a driver’s license to rent a U-Haul. How do I know this? Well, because… I rented a U-Haul. I rented a U-Haul and I drove around all day and I carried furniture up and down stairs and I talked to my first ever landlady, and I wrote checks for security deposits and for rent and… am I an adult?

The government says I am. Once we finished the moving process, I stopped by the local liquor store and bought some beer, while my future housemate¬†bought the pizza, so we could thank our friends that helped us in the whole moving business. I showed my ID, handed over my credit card, and made my first ever purchase of alcohol in the USA. I guess I’m an adult.

Today, my name was read on-air on the radio, because I have a super cool job for the summer. (If you want to hear it too, go here, and play at about 27:00.) Does that make me an adult?

I guess part of growing up is having that moment more and more often that you are an adult. That you have real responsibilities and a real life and a real job (hopefully) and real bills (ugh!). I guess at some point these moments will be all my moments and then I’m really an adult, but for now I embrace both the moments of “real” adult life and the moments I still get to be a child.

One response

  1. Great description of your thoughts on “adulthood.”
    However, I could not get the radio at “here.”
    Any further directions on hearing the “here?”

    May 29, 2014 at 4:25 pm

Comments? Coincidences? Sound off!

