Shared Joy is Twice the Joy, Shared Pain is Half the Pain

I Get It!

Anyone who knows me knows that I don’t run. I’m pretty sure that I haven’t run more than a mile voluntarily in my entire life, and I certainly haven’t run two miles without coercion ever. Until today.

Today, I decided to go for a run, which is pretty weird in the first place. I told myself that I wouldn’t stop running until I did at least four laps around the track.

And then I was finishing my fourth lap and I felt fine.

And then the fifth.

And the sixth, and the seventh.

At the end of the eighth lap, I felt like I could still keep going, but I know how sore I’ll be tomorrow, and decided to call it an evening. So I finished my last lap with a sprint, and walked home without even feeling all that out of breath.

I’m not against running, I’ve just never enjoyed it. I’ve never run without someone telling me I absolutely, positively had to. Basically, I only ever ran if I was chasing a soccer ball or being yelled at in PE.

And then there was today. I ran two miles and I actually enjoyed it. The whole time I was running, after I was running, and probably even tomorrow, when I’m sore. I think I’ll probably even go on another run tomorrow, just because I can.

I think I understand what people say when they say “runner’s high.” The endorphins that seemed to not exist in my system have finally come out of hiding.

I mentioned in a post a couple weeks ago that I wanted to exercise better. Maybe it was just a mental hurdle; that I needed to actually want to enjoy exercising and then I would enjoy exercising. Maybe I am old enough and mature enough now to enjoy exercising. Maybe nothing changed and all this is just a one-day fluke. But I’ll take it one day at a time, and see if I spontaneously like exercising.

And maybe I’ll look into finding a yoga class, since that’s another popular means of exercise that I’ve really never enjoyed…

Comments? Coincidences? Sound off!

