Shared Joy is Twice the Joy, Shared Pain is Half the Pain

Snih.

So much has happened in the last week, and I promise to write all about it shortly. But first, it is necessary to talk about the wonderful beautiful amazingness that is the snow falling and the beauty that is snow-covered Prague.

Long story short, on the bus after dropping Katy off at the airport for her flight back to Geneva, I was staring out the window when all of a sudden we turned the corner, and one of the many valleys that makes up the edges of Prague came into view. If there was ever a time I wished I had my camera, this was it.

The snow was still falling in light, fluffy flakes that drifted down slowly as the bus meandered past, but the sky in the distance had transformed from the monotonous grey of precipitation to the much more varied, though equally grey, of pre- and post- storm clouds. The sun was doing its damnedest to peek out from among the clouds (and failing miserably, I might add), but the light of mid-morning was nonetheless bouncing off the windows of churches with snow-covered roofs and struggling to cast eerily beautiful shadows of the snow-laden branches on the snow-dusted sidewalk.

Did I mention it snowed?

Everyone says snow in cities is disgusting – how it turns grey from the car exhaust and how it ruins your shoes and how if you’re not careful it causes you to land in an embarrassed heap of jacket and gloves at the bottom of a slippery hill or flight of stairs. But I think the snow is beautiful. How it turns the dreariest of mornings into something beautiful, and how it first covers everything in such a fine layer of white as to be almost unnoticeable, but before you know it there are piles of snow perfect for snowball fight forts and sledding.

Perhaps I’m a snow romantic, not unlike Lorelai Gilmore, and perhaps if I was in Boston this semester I wouldn’t have the same pro-snow opinions, but I’m loving the snow here. The way the flakes settle on my jacket as I walk across the street. The way they look as they fall under the streetlight outside my window. The way the snow on the ground gives everyone an excuse to stop on their way to work for a cup of coffee or hot chocolate.

Perhaps I’m a snow romantic, perhaps I’m not. Regardless, I’m looking forward to the next month or two of snow-covered Prague, and hopefully a few opportunities to get some gorgeous snowy pictures of the wonderful city I live in.

One response

  1. Ann Rounds

    Nice writing’ Kathy.

    January 22, 2014 at 8:25 pm

Comments? Coincidences? Sound off!

