Shared Joy is Twice the Joy, Shared Pain is Half the Pain

Surprises

I thought about going out last weekend but decided against it for a variety of reasons. That ended up having absolutely nothing to do with the great things that happened because I stayed home.

For one, my grandmother called. Which is a big deal, because she called from the States. I definitely was not expecting a phone call and it was absolutely wonderful. We talked about all sorts of things, but mostly about things happening in Prague back in the day. Like when it snowed a lot one winter and her mom skied down Wenceslas Square. Or during World War II, when she and her family couldn’t get to the mountains (the Germans wouldn’t let them) so they consequently took the trams to the end of the line at Motol, and skied at the hills nearby. Well,… I live in Řepy, which is on the same tram line as Motol, just a bit further. AKA, I live where Babi used to ski. We talked about other stuff (and she accidentally told me what I’m getting for Christmas) and after about 15 minutes, we said our farewells. It has been about 3 months since I spoke to Babi, and getting to tell her about some of the fun things I’ve been doing and the people I’ve met, as well as getting to hear the stories that she had to tell, was definitely fun.

Second, it snowed! Obviously, the snow would’ve fallen whether I went out or not. But, had I gone out, I wouldn’t have been home to play in the snow with the kids. We went outside and threw snowballs at each other, ran around, and basically enjoyed the first real snow of the season. I spent a half hour or so sitting next to the heater in my room, just staring out the window and drinking tea, enjoying being inside as the cold wind (apparently from Scandinavia) sent the snowflakes, visible only in the bright yellow cone under the street light, flying in every direction.

Comments? Coincidences? Sound off!

