Shared Joy is Twice the Joy, Shared Pain is Half the Pain

It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas

Admittedly, I first thought about writing this post over a month ago. As in, I first thought it was beginning to look like Christmas in mid-October. Stores were starting to put Christmas lights out, and people were starting to wear hats and gloves and thicker jackets, and there was at least one morning with frost still on the parked car windows as I walked to the tram stop. Sara and Liz both told me they were pulling their Christmas albums out, and Michael Buble’s Christmas album began running through my mind. It seemed a little absurd though, at least a week or two or five too early.

But now… Now, Christmas is less than one month away, and the temperature has actually dropped. Now it is hats, scarves, gloves, thick jackets, and hot wine being sold on every street corner cold. I walked to the tram this morning past a dusting of snow that had actually stuck (it wasn’t currently snowing, and hadn’t been since I woke up an hour previously). And there are giant Christmas trees shimmering with lights and giant gold ornaments, and small wooden huts line the squares, filling up with Christmas foods and gifts and cookies. (Cookies!!!) Musicians on the streets are starting to play Christmas tunes, and posters for the Nutcracker are everywhere.

I, unsurprisingly, love Christmas. I love baking and cooking and buying gifts almost as much as I love eating and cuddling on the couch with a blanket and a cup of peppermint hot chocolate and a brand new book. Regardless, the season is upon us, and I am more than happy to join in the Christmas spirit!

One response

  1. 🙂 I listened to the song whilst reading your post and it made me feel all bubbly and excited inside… Its December tomorrow… The only a few days till Christmas!! I can’t wait…. 🙂

    November 30, 2013 at 2:01 pm

Comments? Coincidences? Sound off!

