Shared Joy is Twice the Joy, Shared Pain is Half the Pain

Spoken Word Poetry

Unlike the majority of Americans, I cannot spend hour upon hour on youtube. I do not enjoy watching people doing stupid shit and getting hurt, or videos of baby animals being baby animals, or really anything that youtube seems to feature. Nonetheless, there is one thing on youtube that I can watch for hours on end – spoken word poetry. I have to attribute this love to my high school freshman English class’s poetry slam, and our accompanying trip into the city for the regional teen poetry slam finals. I love Taylor Mali defending teachers, Sarah Kay and Katie Makkal with tips for their as-yet-unborn daughters, and Hollie McNish’s simple reminders of the sad realities of discrimination.

Just yesterday, I discovered a new poem by Mark Grist that I really really love and that reminded me of one of my favorite poems ever, about girls who read.

One response

  1. Pingback: Just Being a Girl |

Comments? Coincidences? Sound off!

