Shared Joy is Twice the Joy, Shared Pain is Half the Pain

Baby Blankets 0, 1, 2, and 3

A few years ago, my aunt and uncle (who had been engaged for like… three years or something) set a date, got married, and announced they were pregnant within a couple of months. My baby cousin, Jacob, is absolutely adorable. I like to pretend he’s a monster!

420196_188377761270583_1655225639_n

But that’s not the point. When they announced they were having a boy, I was home with not enough homework (was it summer?). So I decided to make him a blanket. I probably (definitely) bit off more than I could chew, but I wanted to make him something he’d love as much as I loved the blanket my mom made me when I was born:

DSC_0002

I thought, “boys. space. rocket ships.” I’m pretty sure my original design had a few more planets and a second ship and a quote about exploring, but I kept it sane (ha!). The asteroids were a pain, but they turned out so well. And Jacob’s favorite part when he was a little baby was apparently the rings of Saturn. They’re hard to see on the photo, but I used variegated thread and made dozens of rings by sewing back and forth and back and forth and back and forth and…

IMG_0155

One response

  1. Anita

    Nice job! I love the mathy one 🙂

    September 18, 2013 at 9:25 pm

Comments? Coincidences? Sound off!

