Shared Joy is Twice the Joy, Shared Pain is Half the Pain

Míč = Ball

I brought my yoga/exercise ball with me to Prague, in theory so that I could do my back exercises on it. In reality, however, it has been used much more often as a toy. Which is fine. I mean, it is a ball after all. But also, playing with it has given me an opportunity to both learn a few things and to teach some.

Emma and I pass the ball back and forth while counting. Sometimes we count in English – she only knows the numbers well up to 12, but has heard all the way to 29. So we count to 29 in English. Sometimes we count in Czech – she only knows how to count up to 100, so we count up to 100. It’s good practice for me, because I’m still a bit shaky on my teens.

I have learned the word for dribble (driblovat), and the word for throw (hod). Jachym likes to hit the ball back at you, so we usually play with a smaller ball with him. Or a balloon (balon). Courtesy of this game, I have learned hand (ruka), hands (ruce), and head (hlávkovat). Because, we can’t only hit the ball/balloon with our hands! That would be too boring.

Comments? Coincidences? Sound off!

