Shared Joy is Twice the Joy, Shared Pain is Half the Pain

17/31

I may or may not have brought this exhaustion upon myself when I posted on facebook that I wanted to babysit. And then when I agreed to babysit for three families in two days. But now, having done that, I can definitively say I will not be doing it again. I’ll definitely still be babysitting, just not 17 hours in a 31 hour period. Because that. is. exhausting.

You see, I’m the kind of babysitter that plays. I don’t really like putting kids in front of a TV screen and texting on my phone while they watch some movie. I’m typically babysitting kids between 4 and 12; this weekend I babysat a total of 8 kids: a 5-yr-old, two 6th graders, a 5th grader, a 4th grader, and three 3rd graders – 4 girls and 4 boys. Oh yeah, and three dogs, two bunnies, and a cat. Let’s just say, lots of energy and a little attitude (I don’t do attitude…).

I made two balanced dinners and a pitcher of fresh lemonade, walked to two parks, played five games of hide-and-go-seek, washed dishes in three kitchens, washed three pairs of feet (twice!), supervised two showers and a bath, kissed and band-aided four boo-boos, and brushed out about a hundred tangles. I taught two kids how to climb trees in Central Park, helped Mom get one sulking 5th grader into his fancy clothes for Temple, and researched types of moths with two outdoor explorers. The best part of this kid-filled weekend though, were the silly things they did.

I got a few great quotes. My favorite from the girls, when I told them they could have either fruit salad with marshmallows (a staple of my mom’s back in the day) or vanilla ice cream with strawberries for desert, was “Why are you making us eat so healthy?!?” All because I made them eat one carrot and one bite of their greens at dinner and offered fruit for dinner…

Or Lucy at the park: “He was born in May, and I am born in November. So he’s older than me, but we can still be friends, because we were both born in 2007.”

I captured some “smiles”:

DSC_0036

At least we know they were having fun

But the weekend winner goes to Dylan, finishing 3rd grade, when his friend asked about the oldies station we were listening to: “Oldies, Ian. You know, music from the 1900’s.”

Ladies and gentlemen, the youngest generation believes *NSYNC, The Backstreet Boys, U2, and Britney Spears are “Oldies”. What are we doing with our lives?

One response

  1. Pingback: A Bit of Light Summer Reading | Shared Joy is Twice the Joy

Comments? Coincidences? Sound off!

