Shared Joy is Twice the Joy, Shared Pain is Half the Pain

To All Moms

Some people I know think Mother’s Day is like Valentine’s Day, just another excuse for Hallmark to sell a bunch of overpriced cards and for flower shops to sell…flowers. But I disagree. I think that Mother’s Day is absolutely necessary – for many children its the only day of the year they explicitly thank their mothers for everything they do.

I mean, let’s be real. Moms do stuff for us every day. From the day we’re born to the day we leave home, they feed us and house us and clothe us and support us emotionally. Unfortunately, not all kids are lucky enough to have a mom to do that for them. Sometimes moms are absent, literally or figuratively, and sometimes they’re just not doing the right things. In those situations, I’m always impressed by the fact that other moms step in. Those kids might not be their kids, but moms in the park will kiss a hurt knee, they’ll lend guidance and support and be Mom to someone else. They’re foster parents, but they’re also just friends.

And what I think is really amazing is that those women are there for everyone. Even those of us with happy, helpful, wonderful mothers at home. It’s as if there is some “mom switch” that gets turned on and never turned off. (Sometimes, I’d even say the switch gets turned on before motherhood starts)

Moms are more than just parents. They are mentors and teachers and friends. They are there for us when we’re at our highest highs and our lowest lows. They have the right answers, and sometimes – when the time is right – they share them.

Every mom is all of this. To everyone.

So thank you, and Happy Mother’s Day to all the moms, literal and not. To my Mom, certainly. To both my grandmothers, who I am so lucky to still be able to spend time with. To the moms of my friends, and my brother’s friends, who open their homes to us for sleepovers and parties and life in general. To every mom I’ve ever met, each of whom has cared about me like her own daughter, thank you. And to every woman who isn’t a mother but still treats me like a daughter, you deserve thanks too.  You are teachers, neighbors,  friends, but sometimes you play the “Mom card.” And I rarely admit that I appreciate it, so I’ll do it now. Thank you all for being my mom when my Mom is away (or I’m away from my Mom).

One response

  1. Pingback: Promiňte, prosím | Shared Joy is Twice the Joy

Comments? Coincidences? Sound off!

