Shared Joy is Twice the Joy, Shared Pain is Half the Pain

String Staircase

My dad told me about this cool thing people once did at MIT. I don’t know if it actually happened or not (I have been unable to find proof on the interwebz), but regardless it is a super cool idea. The premise is to take a spiral staircase and turn it into a work of art with a few pieces of string. I think he first told me about it when I was in seventh grade and really into a school project to make curves out of straight line, like this:

lines - green star

These are still my go-to doodle; I’ve decorated entire math binders with these patterns and Sierpinski triangles. Erin can take the credit for introducing me to both of them; I’ll blame her if I ever get in trouble for doodling in math class. (Also, doodles in math class. Maybe I should make my own youtube channel….)

Anyway, I bought some yarn online and took ten minutes to make this super cool spiral in the staircase with the help of a friend. If anyone doubted it, math is pretty cool.

One response

  1. Pingback: Shyashin! | Shared Joy is Twice the Joy

Comments? Coincidences? Sound off!

