Shared Joy is Twice the Joy, Shared Pain is Half the Pain

Video

International Pay It Forward Day

Thursday, April 25th is Pay It Forward Day.

If you haven’t seen the movie “Pay it Forward,” I strongly recommend you go get yourself a box of tissues and watch it right now. It’s probably on Netflix or Amazon. It is beautiful, and devastating. I won’t link to the trailer or tell you about how it ends, but there is this scene, which explains pretty much everything about the movie’s premise. If this kid can make change in the world, I can. And you can. And we should.

In Girl Scouts, our motto is “Do a good turn daily.” Sometimes they are big things, and sometimes they are little. Sometimes finding a good turn is hard, and sometimes things happen that make it easy to do something good. Maybe I have the same idealized view of the world as a utopian world that Trevor has. Maybe I know that the world sucks, and I want to make it better.

I’m printing out Pay it Forward Cards tonight, and if you live in Medford, you might get one from me. Or from someone I know. There’s a lot of good in the world, and I want to be a part of it. And I want to spread good, and beauty, and happiness. I want to share joy. So if you get a Pay it Forward Card, pass it along with a good deed. Meal someone into the dining hall. Give someone a hug. Tell your best friend they matter. Little things are what matters in our daily lives, so pass something good along.

Comments? Coincidences? Sound off!

