Shared Joy is Twice the Joy, Shared Pain is Half the Pain

Video

Pledge Season? Who Cares?

Straight up, this is one of my favorite youtube videos and one of my favorite songs of all time. Like Tom Lehrer’s “The Elements Song,” I may (or may not) know all the lyrics. And, now that I’ve spent a few years listening to NPR on Boston’s WBUR in addition to my decade actively listening to San Fran’s KQED, I actually understand all the references. Even those to the Splendid Table.
If there is an avid NPR listener out there who hasn’t listened to this song before, either you’re crazy or you don’t have the internet. Either way, you should listen to it. Enjoy the sheer nerdiness of the artists, and embrace your own nerdiness (you understand the references, after all!) And if you have listened to it, listen again! There’s no harm in remembering all the beautiful things about NPR, is there?
On the other hand, this song is getting a bit outdated. Where’s the reference to Science Friday? And some of those hosts have retired or are on their way…
Also, listening to this makes me want nothing more than to be back in California, where I can actually listen to public radio while I’m driving home. Man, I miss my little convertible. One month until I’m done with finals and camping, one month and a week until I’m home! For now though, I’ll just listen to this song while laying on the lawn with my eyes closed, pretending the light breeze is coming off the California coast. Enjoy!

Comments? Coincidences? Sound off!

