Shared Joy is Twice the Joy, Shared Pain is Half the Pain

College & My Birthday – 24/7

If there is one truly wonderful thing about being at college, it is that you can literally (and shamelessly!) celebrate your birthday for an entire week! Especially when your birthday is in the middle of the week, and you have good friends celebrating their birthdays on the Friday before and the Friday after.

And then there is dinner on campus the day of, dinner with the friends, a planned birthday picnic, the “surprise” murder mystery party, dinner with the boy… Seriously, a lunch/dinner/other celebration for everyday of the birthday week.

Not to mention an overflowing mailbox and a bunch of emails from mail services. (Seriously, why is mail services on the completely opposite side of campus?!)

Perhaps the best part of getting to celebrate a birthday on a college campus is that you get to tell people your birthday is today (/soon/just happened). Unlike high school or the “real world,” where you see the same people every single day, I have classes with different people every day of the week. And somehow, (subconsciously, I swear!) birthdays manage to weasel their way into each and every conversation I have. Which basically just means that I get to talk about myself and my birthday for an entire week.

When we were little kids, we talked about our birthdays incessantly (“I’m 4 and 3/4,” anyone?), and I honestly think we all want to talk about ourselves for a while… and birthdays make a great opportunity to do so, don’t you think? Therefore, I am embracing my birthday week, even though it is slightly absurd to harp on it so much at almost-20.

Happy birthday to me, and a very merry unbirthday to you!

Comments? Coincidences? Sound off!

