Shared Joy is Twice the Joy, Shared Pain is Half the Pain

Iceland 2013

Our trip to Iceland is an interesting hybrid between completely planned and completely unstructured; a trip style that I’ve never really done before. We had a great spring break last year in DC, and I’m thoroughly looking forward to this year’s trip.

Mom and I are flying independently into Keflavik International Airport in Reykjavík, Iceland. We’ll both be arriving early (early!) Tuesday morning, ready for six exciting mother-daughter days. We’ll be in Reykjavik Tuesday and Wednesday, and heading a couple hours’ drive into South Iceland for Thursday and Friday. In an adventurous spirit, we don’t know where we’ll be sleeping Saturday night. (If you know my mother, you understand. If not, just go with it.) We’re heading back home Sunday evening, and back to school/work on Monday.

A quick and much-deserved shout out to Trip Mavens, who helped us pick wonderful lodging. We’re staying at Hotel Holt in Reykjavik, and Hotel Anna in South Iceland. I’m so excited about Hotel Anna, which has nightly Northern Lights tours leaving from their hotel every evening, and Mom fell in love with Hotel Holt, which doubles as an art gallery. Both hotels have wonderful looking menus in their in-house restaurants.

But why Iceland? I’ve gotten a lot of this question, and there are so many good answers. The best one, of course, is why not? Aurora Borealis. The original Geyser. All the natural hot springs. The experience of a new place and a new language. The relatively short plane ride from Boston. Being able to say I went to Iceland.

Honestly, who knows why I’m going to Iceland? I certainly don’t. Why do I travel? I don’t know that either. Because I love it, perhaps. Because there is nothing more enjoyable than traveling around the world. Taking a trip is so full of fun things, exciting new opportunities. Getting to research all the cool things I can do, all the places to go, and getting to turn all of that into a full-fledged plan. Or a non-fledged plan, if that suits my fancy. Bringing home a journal filled with musings and stories, cutouts of brochures and newspaper clippings. Dozens of pictures, hundreds of memories. Or is it dozens of memories and hundreds of pictures?

I couldn’t be more excited about getting to explore a gorgeous country and enjoy with my mom what promises to be an awesome vacation!

Comments? Coincidences? Sound off!

